P.O. Box 4290

Estes Park, CO 80517

Business Office located at

Hobert Office Services

1140-A Manford Avenue

Estes Park, CO 80517

(970) 586-9519



Estes Park Music Festival
Sounds of Summer Concert

AUGUST 1, 2016

“Bach to Lash: 4 Centuries,
4 Masterpieces”

Jean-Marie Zeitouni, conductor

Hannah Lash, harp

Louis DeMartino, clarinet

Glenn Einschlag, bassoon

and the

Colorado Music Festival

Chamber Orchestra


Monday, 7:30 PM, doors open at 7:00.

The Stanley Hotel Concert Hall

$30 at the door. Save by subscription.
Children and students admitted free.

by Derald DeYoung


The final Colorado Music Festival Chamber Orchestra concert of the summer season is Monday evening, August 1st at 7:30 at the Stanley Concert Hall.


This concert conducted by music director Jean-Marie Zeitouni presents the most varied and wide ranging repertoire of the season.  The concert begins in the Baroque period with Bach’s Orchestral Suite No. 1, and ends in the Classical Period with Beethoven’s Symphony No. 1. From the 20th century it offers Richard Stauss’ Duet Concertino for clarinet and bassoon and a new piece commissioned by the Colorado Music Festival, a harp concerto by composer and harpist Hannah Lash.


Bach wrote four Suites for Orchestra. No 1 in C major is heard first on tonight’s program.  It begins with an expansive and stately overture in French style with dotted rhythms in the outer sections and a lively, rapid fugal middle section.  This is followed by no less the than 6 delightful dance movements: a Courante, a Gavotte, a Forlane, a Minuet, a Bourree and a Passepied.  It is written for a string orchestra with two oboes plus a bass accompaniment of harpsichord and bassoon.


Composer-in-residence at the CMF and harpist Hannah Lash will be the harp soloist in the world premiere of her Harp Concerto No. 2 which was commissioned by the CMF.  Her first harp concerto was performed at Carnegie Hall in October of 2015.  This will surely be a rare treat to hear a composer perform her own work written especially for this orchestra and music festival.







Next is a seldom heard piece by Richard Strauss written just two years before his death at the age of 85 in 1949.  His Duet Concertino features as soloists clarinetist Louis De Martino from the Salem Chamber Orchestra and Bassoonist Glenn Einschlag from the Buffalo Philharmonic.  Both of these musicians are principal players in the Colorado Music Festival Orchestra.  This is a virtuoso show piece for two instruments which is accompanied by a string orchestra and harp.

The concert ends with Beethoven’s Symphony No. 1 in C major, the most classical and Haydn-like of his symphonies.  While the format is from Haydn, the symphony still has Beethoven’s characteristic aggressiveness, rhythmic kick and unorthodox procedures. One such Beethovian surprise is the very first chord which is dissonant and not in the key of the piece, but which eventually leads up to C major.


It is an unusual program with masterpieces from three centuries plus a world premiere with the composer as soloist, a highly creative program that will be sure to both satisfy and challenge the listener.


Tickets: Individual concert tickets: $30 each (cash or check). Children and students admitted free. Tickets available at the door or in advance at Macdonald Book Shop, 152 E. Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park or at the Festival business office located at Hobert Office Services, 1140 Manford Ave., Suite A, Estes Park (970) 586-9519. Tickets may also be purchased online at www.estesparkmusicfestival.org. A processing fee is applied to all credit and/or debit card purchases.


Every concert series needs an excellent venue and the beautiful Stanley Hotel is the perfect mountain setting.  We are grateful to the Stanley Hotel Management and staff for their incredible support and generosity. Thank you to Bob’s Piano Service, our series sponsors, the Safeway Foundation and Chevron Humankind Program.


Additional parking is available next to the Concert Hall and behind the Stanley Hotel.

Estes Park Music Festival ©2014 | All Rights Reserved | Contact the Webmaster